In general, 14% of motor vehicle owners and operators in Louisiana have no automobile insurance. This is a pretty scary figure! What it means is that roughly one out of every seven cars on the road in Louisiana is uninsured.
Uninsured or under-insured motorist coverage is a type of automobile insurance coverage that exists to cover a person for bodily injury damages when the at-fault motorist in an automobile accident either has no insurance or the at-fault motorist does not have enough insurance to pay for a claimant’s damages.
A minimum automobile bodily injury liability policy in Louisiana allows for up to $15,000 in recoverable damages per person and a maximum of $30,000 in damages per accident. In other words, a minimum auto policy in Louisiana will pay out a maximum of $30,000 per accident but no one claimant can receive more than $15,000 in damages from the auto insurance policy.
Should I Have Uninsured Motorist Insurance?
The short answer to whether a person should carry uninsured/under-insured motorist coverage on their auto policy is YES!
If there are more than one or two claimants claiming against a minimum Louisiana auto liability policy for a motor vehicle accident, $30,000 can get exhausted quickly. Often, adding uninsured/under-insured motorist insurance to your auto policy costs less than $100 per year and you gain at least an additional $15,000 in coverage per person and an additional $30,000 in coverage per accident.
The experienced attorneys of Breaux Law Firm have been recovering damages from automobile accidents in New Orleans and Louisiana by making uninsured/under-insured motorist claims for their clients for over thirty years.
If you’d like any advice regarding insurance, an accident you or a loved one has been in, or a personal injury claim, call Breaux Law Firm now for a FREE consultation. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, at (504) 882-0545 or you can email us at [email protected].